Drew Bowden Live in My Living Room!


Last Saturday night I organised a bit of a birthday treat for my wife Ange. I had musical maestro Drew Bowden come and play in my lounge for her and all the family. Yes thats right, I am swimming in brownie points for at least the next 6 months!! 

Drew bangs out musical wonderfullnes while my grom Xavier looks on from the couch.

Drew bangs out musical wonderfullness while my grom Xavier looks on from the couch.

Drew’s style of music draws similarties to the likes of Jack Johnson/Ben Harper/Xavier Rudd. Think melodic slide guitar, up-tempo drum beats(also done by Drew with a miked up foot pad), and one humdinger of a solid voice.

The crowd goes ballistic in the mosh pit...

The crowd goes ballistic in the mosh pit...

A long long time ago I used to play in a band. One garners much appreciation for those with a lot of musical skill. Nowdays the only person that will listen to me sing and play the guitar is my 4 year old daughter when she is having her bath, I think this is actually just a trade off so someone is in the bathroom the whole time. Yes folks my singing is absolutely rotten…

I think this is where Drew is thinking "Please stop tapping your feet out of beat Digga, and for the love someones god dont try sing along to my songs.."

I think this is where Drew is thinking "Please stop tapping your feet out of beat Digga, and for the love of someones god dont try sing along to my songs.."

 We actually had a few talented musicians in the house that night( No I  wasnt one of them!), After Drew had wowed our crowd with a set of his songs he was kind enough to join in on a bit of a blues jam with Russell(on key board) and his son(playing lead guitar). We also had Ryan joining in with his electric. Gold. Live music. You just cant beat it. Even I tried to join in with the harmonica, A few sideways glances and the roll of the eyes saw my participation shortlived… haha

drew bowden-5695

drew bowden-5696

A huge thanks to Drew for making the night possible. Look out for a new post soon as Drew, myself and Blake Myers are collaborating a bit of a gig that will raise money for the local boardriders and also filming for one of Drew’s upcoming music videos. If you want to listen to some of Drews music click the link on the side of my blog( look around you’ll find it there on the right under the Blogroll).

drew bowden-5688

Drew’s songs have featured on the likes of the TV show Neighbours in Australia. NZ born, Drew and his wife Heidi, and sons Tane and Mackenzie, moved back to NZ from OZ 18months ago and have fallen in love with the lifestyle and surf of the Coromandel. You’ll be hearing more from Drew and his little rippers.

About DiggaSURF

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Digga's Voice- Images and Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

